Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    VXR newbie
    Join Date
    28th January 2015
    Posts
    3

    Question Custom Sport Button Settings Astra J VXR

    Hi guys,

    Anyone know if there's a way to change the settings for the sport button so that it has the same throttle response and steering as the VXR button, but with the standard suspension settings?

    I've found the sport button settings in config but doesn't seem to be an option for this.

    I just find the throttle a little too lethargic in its default setting

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    VXR enough FreshDriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    8th April 2008
    Posts
    1,253

    Default

    On a standard one is not possible but you may remap it and have vxr throttle feeling all time but normal suspension.
    Mine does it.

  3. #3
    VXR newbie
    Join Date
    28th January 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FreshDriver View Post
    On a standard one is not possible but you may remap it and have vxr throttle feeling all time but normal suspension.
    Mine does it.
    Yeah I have toyed with the idea of a remap, but don't want to throw my warranty away. I know Thorney claim to preserve warranty but I've heard they can be extremely slippery if a claim is made...

  4. #4
    VXRacing ahead
    Join Date
    29th May 2011
    Posts
    648

    Default

    No other way then I'm afraid mate, you can only go by the options in the settings. You could put it in VXR mode for the throttle response and turn off the red backlight, but you'll have to deal with track setting suspension lol

  5. #5
    VXR enough
    Join Date
    17th October 2009
    Posts
    3,140

    Default

    Just a thought:- Could this problem be got around another way - all mechanical rather than electronic.
    Is there any way of disconnecting the suspension sensors (I don't know how it is stiffened up so it might be a stupid suggestion) so that it stays in standard mode when the VXR button is pushed.

  6. #6
    VXR enough FreshDriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    8th April 2008
    Posts
    1,253

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by robertshephard View Post
    Just a thought:- Could this problem be got around another way - all mechanical rather than electronic.
    Is there any way of disconnecting the suspension sensors (I don't know how it is stiffened up so it might be a stupid suggestion) so that it stays in standard mode when the VXR button is pushed.
    Supension is all time connected, has a different setting depending on the mode.

  7. #7
    VXRed TCF's Avatar
    Join Date
    22nd October 2014
    Posts
    137

    Default

    You would need to be able to know how the ecu communicates to the suspension and steering and then reprogram it accordingly. I am sure some very experienced mappers may know how to do this. There is no way to do it in stock.

  8. #8
    VXR enough
    Join Date
    7th April 2008
    Posts
    1,153

    Default

    You can buy modules which plug into the suspension so that they dont stiffen and also so that it doesnt throw up error codes if when say fitting full coilovers etc. also, have you thought about a throttle kicker type unit? Look on DTUK website as I have a feeling they may now be selling them and this is supposed to sharpen throttle response. Removable unit so no warranty issues if youre not keen on remapping. I dont use any of the above but have been reading up on them.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    "I intend to slide sideways through the Pearly Gates, turbo at full boost, and screaming, Man, what a ride!"

  9. #9
    VXR enough
    Join Date
    17th October 2009
    Posts
    3,140

    Default

    Thanks for the info. That's worth following up!

  10. #10
    VXRed
    Join Date
    20th January 2015
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Frog View Post
    Yeah I have toyed with the idea of a remap, but don't want to throw my warranty away. I know Thorney claim to preserve warranty but I've heard they can be extremely slippery if a claim is made...
    I asked Vauxhall the remap/warranty question recently. The guy told me that you can get a stage 1 map from an "approved specialist" and it has no affect on your warranty, only if you go beyond stage 1....give them a ring!

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts