Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    VXRed

Default Sounds like a dump valve

Hi Everyone!

I got myself a Astra Vxr- 2013 last week.

I need to ask you about what i think is a problem.

I got this noise, like a dump valve or something similar when i let of the throttle, the car has no mods.

It's only when i go over 2k 2,5k rpms( and higher) and let go of the throttle(prolly when the turbo kick in?). There's no such noise when the car i still and i rev it in neutral.

Hope you get what i ment!

Is it a problem or is it normal?

Sorry for asking but i have no experience about the vxr yet!

Thanks for any help i could get!

The blow off valve on the Astra is the recirculating kind rather than an atmospheric dump valve. I can't hear mine when I come off the throttle. It's not turbo surge / flutter ? Could be a torn diaphragm on the factory diverter valve?

VXRed

Thanks for the reply!

Hm not sure actuelly, but to me it sounds just like a dump when i let go of the throttle, maybe like a turkey noise. Not too loud either but it's definetly something that i hear every time. Do you think it's ok to drive? I have a service coming up on monday, i showed the serviceman and made him drive the car, he said they never serviced one before at that dealership but they had one in the shop on display, he said i could drive it(it goes well despite the noise but im unsure). Do you have any suggestions on what i should ask them to look at, other than the dumping sound?

Thanks again for all the help i can get!

I get this on mine (2015), always made the noise since I got it brand new. Don't think it's something you need to worry about bud.

James.
    James
    Custom 2015 Summit White GTC VXR

Quote Originally Posted by Norhidem View Post
    Thanks for the reply!