+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    VXR newbie

Default Owning a VXR8 questions please

Hi im trying to decide whether to buy a VXR8 or E92 M3 and trying to find out some information about the VXR8 and any help would be much appreciated. I apologise in advance as the search function wont load but that might have something to do with my connection.

How many miles can you get from a tank of fuel, my commute once a month is 280 miles each way is it easy to get 280 from 1 tank of fuel because I don't like stopping during this journey. also how many litres does it take to fill?

Does it require normal fuel or the likes of V-power?

Im a mechanic by trade so will be doing all my servicing ect by myself im wandering how much it is for the following parts; spark plugs, oils and filters, brakes ect?

Am I right in assuming these engines are reliable for high miles and how have they been holding up as the miles rack up? also is there any major concerns reliability wise for the whole car?

What's better the manuals or autos does the car have any problems with either

thanks in advance

Regional Assistant - Essex Hey Mr Chicken badboyburt's Avatar

Tank capacity is 73 litres.

Miles from fuel, around town 12-14mpg, motorway can see around 26-28mpg at a steady speed around 70 in 6th gear, Ive driven Basildon to North Shields which is 310 miles on one tank. Basildon to lemans around 360 miles, used one tank although arrived on fumes lol

Fuel, hot topic lol any 97/99 ron fuel is fine, if supercharged keep to the 99ron.

Oil and filters from main dealers, GM dexos 2 is fine, others will swear using royal purple oils will give better performance but each to their own.

Brakes can be sourced in the uk at high prices, quite a lot of us source them from Australia, 4 discs, 4 sets of pads delivered with import taxes for around £850 (Depending on the £ - Aus $ exchange rate)

Heres a link to our parts thread with useful info,