+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    VXRed XenonVXR's Avatar
    Join Date
    26th July 2017
    Posts
    131

    Default Larger radio top screen

    I get the title doesnít make much sense, on the corsa Iíve got Iíve got the smaller top screen

    Would I be able to fit in the larger one? Obviously I understand Iím going to need new surroundings and such but are the cables all the same? Would it be as simple as plug and play? Also will I need to get this paired with my existing radio or should I wait for when I get a touchscreen unit? Thanks!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    VXR Adam"san" w20adm's Avatar
    Join Date
    23rd June 2010
    Posts
    16,104

    Default

    If its anything like the astra which I guess it is, you can upgrade the head unit screen yes. I changed from a regular astra BID screen to a full 3 line CID screen. It will need to be paired to the radio unit as well yes, however many a time you can purchase paired units together in a bundle.
    W20 ADM's led Lighting shop, see link below for details
    http://www.vxronline.co.uk/forum/sho...-lighting-shop

  3. #3
    VXRed XenonVXR's Avatar
    Join Date
    26th July 2017
    Posts
    131

    Default

    Okay awesome Iíll have a check now wasnít sure as Iíd saw you commenting on the Astra post aswell so was have a read through that, just need to find one now! Thanks mate


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    VXRed XenonVXR's Avatar
    Join Date
    26th July 2017
    Posts
    131

    Default

    Iíve found this one but it says itís not suitable for pre face lift models, any idea what difference that would make?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    VXR Adam"san" w20adm's Avatar
    Join Date
    23rd June 2010
    Posts
    16,104

    Default

    Tbh I'm not sure mate. Not all sellers are completely knowledgeable about this stuff so just cover themselves.

    I don't know what differences it entails. Maybe it's programmed with the later gen gds2 rather than tech2
    W20 ADM's led Lighting shop, see link below for details
    http://www.vxronline.co.uk/forum/sho...-lighting-shop

  6. #6
    VXRed srihaggis's Avatar
    Join Date
    22nd June 2018
    Posts
    27

    Default

    The only difference you have to be careful of, is the top bezel plastic, which incidently I can't see on your photo. Facelift bezels have different plastic, eg it has a lip on the side. Pre face don't have the lip as the plastic on the dash is different between pre and post facelift.

    As for the screen, the electrical side is the same. I've swapped and changed many a GID over the years. I just got a mate to hook it up to Tech 2 and paired/unpaired as needed.

  7. #7
    VXR enough
    Join Date
    23rd May 2013
    Posts
    2,261

    Default

    As above that one you've listed will fit prefacelift models, as long as you get the preface lift cover/hood.

    As the radio and screen are already paired together you won't need to have them tech2'd to work, that said you may need it tech2'd to enable all features (e.g. the 2x stop watches, mpg display) or adjust the code index if they've come out of a diesel or turn off the bluetooth tab

    Be aware though that radio doesn't have the BC button so you won't be able to access the secret menu (to get coolant temp etc)!

    So for easiness sake you'd be better buying a paired CD30/GID thats;
    - out of a petrol car
    - has the BC/settings buttons at the bottom.
    Corsa SRI Turbo and Facelift Corsa 1.4 SE

  8. #8
    VXRed blooded Arron D's Avatar
    Join Date
    9th February 2018
    Posts
    312

    Default

    I thought all ones with screens like this were Dab radios that require aerial changing, unless that was just optional extra

  9. #9
    VXR enough
    Join Date
    23rd May 2013
    Posts
    2,261

    Default

    No the GID is just a bigger screen to give stopwatch/board computer and the bluetooth phone portal.

    You can get the them with any CD30, not just the DAB one.
    Corsa SRI Turbo and Facelift Corsa 1.4 SE

  10. #10
    VXR Adam"san" w20adm's Avatar
    Join Date
    23rd June 2010
    Posts
    16,104

    Default

    Did they ever put a CID in the corsa? For satnav etc?
    W20 ADM's led Lighting shop, see link below for details
    http://www.vxronline.co.uk/forum/sho...-lighting-shop

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts