+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    VXRed blooded
    Join Date
    21st July 2018
    Posts
    342

    Default

    I did bore it out bigger yes but use a sleeve which narrows one end hence the drop in size of the black pipe.
    Think I may need to pull it out and start again


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #12
    VXR Adam"san" w20adm's Avatar
    Join Date
    23rd June 2010
    Posts
    17,124

    Default

    Needs to be consistant size really mate.
    W20 ADM's led Lighting shop, see link below for details
    http://www.vxronline.co.uk/forum/sho...-lighting-shop

  3. #13
    Are you VXR enough? andy-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    12th May 2010
    Posts
    891

    Default

    The maf should ideally fit right into the box so just tinker with it until it does and it'll move the pipe away from the ac pipe
    Vectra VXR 280. Milltek cat back. Courts upgraded radiator. Courts intercooler. K&N filter. Eibach springs. TD Pro race 1.2s

  4. #14
    The Red Baron... Deathace's Avatar
    Join Date
    25th May 2011
    Posts
    6,964

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by andy- View Post
    The maf should ideally fit right into the box so just tinker with it until it does and it'll move the pipe away from the ac pipe
    You want the maf out of the turbulence of the air box for best readings hence why you have the spacer from the box to the maf.

    To the OP, I would cut the spigot from the airbox down a little and shorten the hose from maf to spigot then that should pull the hose enough away from the aircon hose, also trim the bottom hose an inch that fits to the turbo and then as above push it down further. This will allow you a bit more room to get the dip stick out as required.

    Russ

  5. #15
    VXR Nothing comes close R15VXR's Avatar
    Join Date
    13th May 2008
    Posts
    21,632

    Default

    OP - have you reworked this airbox at all ie. Cut off rubber connector and glued in a suitable bored connecting tube ?? ( provide pics with the lid off with and without filter please and with MAF disconnected )


    Unless its a bad pic , there appears also no intake pipe connected at the bottom of the box ?

  6. #16
    VXRed blooded
    Join Date
    21st July 2018
    Posts
    342

    Default

    I did work the air box yes.

    Iím going to buy an 80mm spigot so itís done properly.
    Anyone know how long it needs to be?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #17
    The Red Baron... Deathace's Avatar
    Join Date
    25th May 2011
    Posts
    6,964

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CoolStory View Post
    I did work the air box yes.

    I’m going to buy an 80mm spigot so it’s done properly.
    Anyone know how long it needs to be?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Long enough to get some purchase on it with the hose and clamp (about 30mm protruding from the airbox) but also bear in mind that the maf butts up against it inside the hose so you do not want it too long otherwise you end up with the same issue and the hose not fitting correctly.

    Russ

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts