This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dump Valve Or Wastegate??

Whats better a Dump Vavle or Wastegate??

Sorry for all the posts im just new to the hole owning a car im proud of and want to MOD it and i've become a girl racer since driving the VXR.

thanks again
    Char

Dont know what you mean wast gate part of turbo, dump valve you fit in the boost pipe 2 differant things.

www.courtenaysport.co.uk/ For all your tuning needs

Comment

As dave says they are two different things.

The wastegate releases the exhaust gas pressure built up in the turbine housing, usually when you change gear. This is done to drop the turbo pressure when engine revs drop (otherwise you'd be doing high boost at low rpm).
      The VXR, like most road cars has an internal wastegate, which means the gases it releases are dumped through the exhaust. This is mainly for refinement.
      An external wastegate dumps to atomsphere. They are really only uned in motorsport applications.

Have a look at the wikipedia page for wastegates - the first pic of on the right looks very much like a KKK turbo as fitted to a c20let engine. You can see the wastegate to the right of the compressor wheel.

A dump valve or blow off valve releases air from the induction tract, the idea is it prevents the induction charge hitting a shut throttle plate and bouncing back into the turbo and slowing the turbine down/ causing undue stress.

Comment

so dump valve it is then, ANy suggestions on make etc.

I've seent he how to thread and shown my fella, he recorns baileys dump valve

wht do u think, i've been offered my brothers dump vavle for nothing and a T piece to tap off the regulator, Where does the valvle itself go??

any more pic's would be great

Comment

Comment

Comment

Comment

Originally posted by vxrdave
                thats really nice, i want mine to look like that

whats bailys dump valvle is that??

Comment