X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New car choice

Hello I'm a newbie.
    i currently drive a Clio 182 and am now looking to upgrade to bigger and better!
    A VXR is my number one choice but i have a few questions i want some honest (not dealer) answers to:
    1. my fuel economy in clio is 30 - 35 on the computer, general combined driving, i know the VXR will be lower (worse) but what do you guys actually get?
    2. 19" wheels? holy crap, what do new rubber bands for them cost? is it worth staying on standard 18's? and how long are you getting on them?
    3. what are the VX dealers like and their service? Renault are truly truly dreadful.
    4. other choices are Focus ST (huge waiting list - common?), or Megane 225 with CUP chassis? any comparisons?
    Thanks

Hi Clive,
    Welcome to the forum. I can't comment on some of the question as we don't have an Astra.
    With reference to the dealers of course each one will be different. My own is truly fantastic when it comes to customer care. They have only ever sold 1 Vectra VXR (ours) and although they are not experienced on everything on the car they do really work very hard, including accomodating me when I drop in at a moments notice for small adjustments.
    I believe there are a few people on here that have swapped orders for ST's for Astra and having now seen a few ST's around I think the Astra is the better looking car by a long shot.
    Our car has 19" wheels and I have driven an Astra on 19"'s and I haven't found the car uncomfortable (unlike some other performance cars running on such big wheels). I can't comment on the cost of tyre replacement
    Someone will be along shortly to answer your Astra specific questions.

Comment

Thanks Catherine, sounds promising.
      also, my local dealer is offering their demo for 17,999 with the 19" wheels?
      i'm pretty sure this is a bit on the expensive side and i could probably pick up a brand new one for less, i.e. broadspeed etc.