X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Some basic questions...

Hey guys.
    Very impressed with the forum.
    I'm a newbie here and just purchased a VXR vectra estate. For those who are interested, it's the 'special' edition...aka ex police!

I have been working on it for the past few weeks to get it back to an original state, it now sports the 'original' SRI interior and looks pretty tidy. (no more screw holes or dodgy wires left hanging around!)

I have a few questions. Its an early 2007 on a 56 plate. It also has '186kv' stamped on the door plate so i presume this is the 255Bhp model. How easy is it to get it to the 280Bhp version? Is it worthwhile?

As this is ex police it does have a few faults which can soon be sorted. It is surprisingly straight! No dints that I can find, however it does do one thing which is completely baffling!

When i unlock or lock the car, the rear light clusters 'tick'....It's almost like there is a relay clicking, but can't see anything. It lasts for abour 30 seconds then stops. Any ideas what it could be?

Thanks in advance.
    Looking forward to becoming a member of the team!

Andy.
    Last edited by ezeepzee; 30 July 2010, 08:12 PM. Reason: typo! oops!

Best way to get it up to a 280 is a remap mate, will give you the 300bhp most of us enjoy, also gives you in the region of 400lbs/ft of torque which is monstrous

The rear light cluster jobbie, is it possibly an ex police wiring thing? Or is the clicking coming from the boot lock?
    sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by ezeepzee View Post
      Hey guys.
      Very impressed with the forum.
      I'm a newbie here and just purchased a VXR vectra estate. For those who are interested, it's the 'special' edition...aka ex police!

I have been working on it for the past few weeks to get it back to an original state, it now sports the 'original' SRI interior and looks pretty tidy. (no more screw holes or dodgy wires left hanging around!)