Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Xenons - Any Good? AFL Worth The Extra Cost?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Xenons - Any Good? AFL Worth The Extra Cost?

This is my first time on this forum, I must say I've enjoyed reading the through on here over the last few days particularly since I'm considering swapping my company Mondeo ST for a VXR

My remaining queries are regarding the standard headlamps (Xenons / AFL set up)

1.) I've got Xenons on my Mondeo and, to be perfectly honest, they're crap! They're noticably 'dimmer' than many modern cars running Halogens. BTW I had a 2002 3.2GSi Vectra with Xenons and they weren't great either.

I do loads of miles (1000 to 1200 per week), spend a lot of time in Scotland in Winter and I'm really hoping the VXR's standard lamps are good...if they're not is the AFL worth opting for?

PS I had a 1998 Omega Elite with Xenons (one of the first on the road with Xenons) and they where absolutely superb - never had a car since with lamps anything like 'em!

2). If you stick with the standard Xenons I assume they're dip beam only with Halogen mains whereas the AFL gives Xenon dip/main with halogen 'assist' on main?

I'm waiting for a VXR on the Vauxhall fleet 3 day demo scheme so, hopefully, I'll be able to judge the standard set up for myself though your comments / info will be much appreciated.

Don't know about the Vectra, but assume it is similar to Astra which I've got with AFL. Have found the light quality very good. The movement whilst going into corners is subtle but does help during very dark conditions to see the bend of the curve better. At speed they raise slightly to highlight more of the road, which is again sublte but very useful.