X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• On the brink!

Hi All

I am on the verge of placing an order for a new Vectra VXR. I have been debating for about 6 months now and have decided that it is worth it, despite the poor residuals and potential, <25 mpg.

Unfortunately, today I was surfing the net and came across Jeremy Clarkson's test drive on TG. He slated it. Please tell me that it is just his anti-Vauxhall propaganda at work again. Is the understeer so bad? I test drove the car yesterday and the engine is awesome. Did not get a chance to really drive it through the bends.

Am going to make final decision by this Saturday. Help please!

P.S Star Silver or Red?

Hi Star,
    I've seen the Veccie VXR in action and I'll tell you from what I saw the handling is fine, as long as you know how to drive which Clarkson doesn't. It is the usual VX hatemail from him. Just pm Sparky and he can give you the full low down as he's got one and it was him I was trying to follow in my Astra VXR.

Cheers,
    Alex

Ps. Starsilver for the Veccie is my preferred.

Comment

The TG test was a p&ss take, not any attempt at a serious review.

It's true that if you turn off TC, turn the steering wheel to the stops, and apply full throttle in second gear, then you can demonstrate "catastrophic understeer". However, given a Monaro VXR 500, I'm fairly sure I could demonstrate "catastrophic oversteer" by doing exactly the same thing!

Point is, the Vectra VXR is a powerful front wheel drive car. If you are heavy footed in the lower gears in the wet, it will eventually wash out, but the limits are very high, and it remains responsive up to those limits. Drive with a bit of throttle control, and it can be devastatingly quick, especially on the faster corners.

Check out the EVO test for another perspective, and that was testing the 255hp version without the tweaked suspension:
      http://www.evo.co.uk/carreviews/carg..._bmw_330i.html

dv.

Comment