Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

if you like millitary books

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • if you like millitary books

    then please give firestrike 7/9 a wee peek!

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Fire-Strike-...=cm_cr_pr_pb_t

    "Meet Sergeant Bommer Grahame. He's just an ordinary squaddie but on the battlefield he wields more power than any other soldier. He's an elite army JTAC (Joint Terminal Attack Controller- pronounced jay-tack ) a highly-trained specialist warrior responsible for calling in and directing Allied air power. At his command, under call sign Widow 7-9, Apache gunships, A10 tank-busters, F15s and Harrier jets target the enemy in the most intense and lethal combat situations.

    Due to his specialist role, Sergeant Grahame usually operates in the thick of the action, where it's at its most fearsome and deadly. Conjuring the seemingly impossible from apparently hopeless situations, soldiers in battle rely on the skill and bravery of the JTACs to enable them to win through in the heat of the danger zone.

    Widow 7-9 tells the story of Bommer Grahame and his five-man Fire Support Team on their tour of Afghanistan. Sometimes operating behind enemy lines, they were hunted and targeted by the enemy, shot, blown-up, mortared and hit by rockets on numerous occasions. Under these conditions Sergeant Grahame notched up 203 confirmed enemy kills or more than one per day saving the lives of the men in his company and decimating the attacking Taliban. "

    none of the solders in this book are recieving one penny! all the money is going to forces charities! please support a number of great causes and recieve a great read outta it

    cheers Paddy

    sigpic



  • #2
    Hmm Gary has this sergents name been changed from in real life?
    sigpic

    Comment


    • #3
      nope! thats the man! its the first book of its kind (fac/jtac) so its aimed at all level of knowledge!!!

      it even makes an appearance in total vauxhall this month lol

      sigpic


      Comment


      • #4
        Cool mate, il buy this
        sigpic

        Comment


        • #5
          i was left outta the book for obvious reasons right up to the end! then we realised i was gonna be in the public eye so i make an appearance in one or two places lol

          its no superhero story! just a truthfull account of ordinary blokes

          from left Chris Lane, Mikey Wallis, me, throp(yea i know **** socks) and jess! all the main guys minus bommer


          sigpic


          Comment


          • #6
            yeah seen it advertised in total vauxhall bought sniper one by dan mills and thought that was a good read

            am away on ma hols in sept so will buy it for reading on the plane plus its for a good cause
            sigpic

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by Stim1961
              Thanks for the headsup Gary !! just ordered it and awaiting ur autograph Hope the recoveries going well and ur going from strength to strength mate

              good point! if anyone wants them signed by most of the guys drop them off to me! some of us stil work together

              recoveries going great thanks mate

              sigpic


              Comment


              • #8
                nice one mate i,ll be buying this dude oh just thought i would tell ya mate ive joined the marine cadets so hopefully put ma skills back into use im beging to feel useless pmsl
                www.themarkwrightproject.org.uk
                www.combatstress.org.uk


                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by scoobieeccosse View Post
                  nice one mate i,ll be buying this dude oh just thought i would tell ya mate ive joined the marine cadets so hopefully put ma skills back into use im beging to feel useless pmsl

                  has do be done! i missed it like mad when i first got out! right im away to the heads! you can get the wets on in the galley

                  sigpic


                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by randomgary View Post
                    good point! if anyone wants them signed by most of the guys drop them off to me! some of us stil work together

                    recoveries going great thanks mate
                    Does that include those of us that bought on launch?

                    Cracking book, a good read and gives you an insight into the ground war, good to get the eyes on perspective from the controllers, and ties in quite nicely with the Ugly perspective of Apache by Ed Macy.

                    Recommended buy from me.



                    my VXR history: Arden Corsa, Astra Nurburgring, Corsa Arctic, Evoke VXR8, Black Corsa, Silver Vectra, a long weekend with an Insignia, a chilli burger and now a siggy tourer!

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      it certainly does mate! an artillery controller has been asked to do a follow up book from this one lol!

                      that might beworth a read too

                      cheers for the review

                      sigpic


                      Comment


                      • #12
                        looks good love miltary books
                        Arden Racing Edition

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          another quick request can anyone whos read it write out a quick review?

                          http://www.amazon.co.uk/Fire-Strike-...=cm_cr_pr_pb_t

                          were hoping to keep the momentium going for the charities involved!

                          cheers Gary

                          sigpic


                          Comment

                          Working...
                          X