This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting your own business

Been wanting to do this for a while now,so when a friend asked me last night in the pub I was pretty made up.

We're looking at buying to let properties to students, in other words renting out student digs in places like Manchester, Sheffield, Leeds, Liverpool etc. Now I was wondering if anyone has done this before and has any tips or even on setting up your own business.

Bit of background. I work in sales myself, have done for nearly 4 years. Studied Business at college. My best friend (who aksed me last night) is a training certified accountant. Hes nearly qualified and has been doing the job 7 years. Final person who's in is another friend who recently graduated uni studying political studies. Between us we should have enough skills to get where we want to be.

For people who have done this before, what rout did you take? Did you go down the route of being a sole trader / partnership or did you set up a holding company ie My Company Ltd and run everything through that?

We arn't looking to go ahead until around dec 09 / Jan 10 to give us time to get together some capital, circa £10k each which should give us a nice deposit for the first property while allowing house prices to fall a little further due to the recission etc.

Business plan would be to provide affordable housing to students, offering clean, modern living while undercutting competition by 10-20%. Example offering a room in a 4 bed house for £70per week (average seems to be about £85-£90per week) would bring in ~£14k per year, IF were paying ~£10k a year for the mortgage/etc that would give us £4k profit, granted not much between 3 people but it is a starting point.

Anyone see any major flaws in the plan, or have any tips for making a success of it?

Only flaw I see is students making a mess of the house and you left to foot the repair bills.

I guess that's a risk you take when renting any property though